Loading Events
Calendar Upcoming Events

Watch a Recording of this Program on the Vox Website!
Show & Tell: "Song of Sinigang" with KT Pe Benito
Presented as part of 4th Wall Film/Video Programming



Watch a recording of this program above!

Show & Tell: “Song of Sinigang” with KT Pe Benito

Originally Presented: Wednesday, July 20, 2022 | 1 pm HT / 4 pm PT / 5 pm MT / 6 pm CT / 7 pm ET | on Zoom
Presented as part of 4th Wall Film/Video Programming

On Wednesday, July 20th at 7pm ET, Black Box will be screening “Song of Sinigang” by Vox Member KT Pe Benito on Zoom, which debuted in the group exhibition, Best Practices. Following the film, join the artist KT Pe Benito for a Q&A discussion.

About the film: “Song of Sinigang” follows the on-screen chef persona of KT Pe Benito as they share the importance of cultural stewardship. While they prep ingredients, they tell stories of their grandmother, of transnational democratic organizing with Anakbayan Philadelphia, and living in the U.S. empire.

The film will be available to view on the Vox Website, along with the Q&A discussion for following the initial screening.

About the Artist

KT Pe Benito (they/them/siya) is an arts worker, caregiver, and organizer navigating access and dismantling dominator culture. They utilize writing, performance, installation, video, and drawing to offer different points to access their own ideas and for the people experiencing their work.

The arc of their practice is in service to Philippine history, Fil-Am community, human rights activists, and arts & cultural workers. KT creates artwork themselves to sustain victim.survivor futurity, leaning into humor and impulse with their art to ground their existence & embrace ease. They organize with ANAKBAYAN Philadelphia and lead as the city chapter’s 2022-23 Chairperson.
More Info: ktpebenito.com / @playpinay / @anakbayanphilly

About Show & Tell

Show & Tell is presented by Vox Populi’s Black Box Committee as part of our ongoing 4th Wall film/video program dedicated to showcasing new and experimental film/video works by independent, emerging, and early-career artists.

Past Show & Tell Screenings
6/23/22: “Offerings to Bob Flanagan” by Mae Eskenazi
5/17/22: “Who Gets To Die” by Hazel Katz
3/1/22: Short Films by Stephanie Sutton & Paige Phillips
6/24/21: “Balancing Acts” by Lorena Molina
6/22/21: Experimental Animations by Oona Taper
5/13/21: “Passing Grounds” by RJ Lozada
4/20/21: “If Sand Were Stone…” by Ben Mendelsohn
3/16/21: Three Short Films by Phạm Nguyễn Anh Tú
2/18/21: “The Dragons and Seraphim” by Sasha Waters Freyer

Event:
Show and Tell: KT Pe Benito
Start:
September 2 @ 7:00 pm
End:
September 2 @ 8:00 pm
iCal Import + Google Calendar
o