Shop Our Bizarre Holiday Bazaar Online Store! 

Vox Populi Members on a Zoom Meeting, April 2020

COVID-19 UPDATE (9/28/20)
Vox Populi is temporarily closed to the public while planning future exhibitions and events, as well as completing work on our 1st Ever Juried Publication. We are currently not booking or hosting any in-person receptions, rentals, or events.

Thank you to everyone who visited Vox during gallery drop-in hours in September! Stay tuned to the Vox website for upcoming online programs!

Interested in partnering with Vox on outdoor or virtual exhibitions and programs? Email:


Founded in 1988, Vox Populi is a contemporary art space and artist collective that works to support the challenging and experimental work of under-represented artists with monthly exhibitions, gallery talks, performances, lectures, and related programming. For three decades, Vox Populi has played a unique role in the cultural life of Philadelphia by bringing our audience a diverse range of programming and providing a supportive environment in which artists can take risks and gain valuable professional experience.

With a rotating membership and a commitment to working collectively, Vox Populi is a vital forum for the development and exchange of artistic ideas. Vox Populi’s comprehensive exhibition schedule includes solo shows of both member and guest artists, a curated video lounge, annual guest-curated shows, exchanges with peer organizations and group shows that provide critical exposure for under-represented artists.

Vox Populi is located on the 3rd Floor of 319 North 11th Street, in Philadelphia. Artist receptions are free and open to the public, and take place on the first Friday of each month, from 6–10pm.


Vox Populi was founded in 1988 by Ann Karlen (the original director from 1997-2000), Mark Forsythe, Jennie Shanker, Julie Marquart, Jennie Desnouee, Michael Frechette, and Beth Rhoades. Over beers at Dirty Franks, a loose-knit group of Philadelphia artists decided to call a citywide open meeting (publicized through posters, flyers, and word of mouth) to discuss non-existent artistic opportunities and to propose a remedy through self-organization. This first meeting for Vox occurred in a space located on the second floor of 622 S. 4th Street. At the meeting, Vox Populi was formed, and thirty members joined the new collective. Vox’s first location was a three-story building on 4th Street, just south of South Street. Vox moved to a four-story building on 2nd and Church Streets in 1991, and in 2001 moved to 1315 Cherry Street in the Gilbert Building (which housed the Fabric Workshop and Museum), before moving to the current location on 11th Street in 2007.

Contact and Hours

Vox Populi is open to the public Wednesday through Sunday from 12pm to 6pm.

215-238-1236 TEL

Please note that Vox Populi is located on the third floor of a historic warehouse building at 319 N. 11th Street and that there are five steps leading from the street-level to the first-floor landing where the passenger elevator picks-up/drops-off. The entry into/out of the elevator is 29-inches wide, so may not accommodate all wheelchairs or motorized chairs. Any individual requiring a ramp to navigate this entryway is encouraged to get in touch with Vox Populi ahead of time to coordinate ramp-access and discuss accessibility details. Our ramps may not be suitable for all wheelchairs or motorized chairs, so we strongly encourage anyone requiring a ramp to be in touch at: or 215.238.1236

Executive Director / General Information:
Black Box (performance and live programs):
Special Projects:

Vox Populi on Google Maps

Facebook Instagram


Danny Orendorff, Executive Director

Lucia Alber
Blanche Brown
Gerald Brown
Stephanie Bursese
Briana Coleman
Maude Haak-Frendscho
Maddie Hewitt
Natalie Hijinx
Zach Hill
Marion Horowitz, Member President
Natalie Kuenzi, Fundraising Chair
Melissa Langer
Kirk McCarthy, Facilities Chair
Makeba Rainey
Katie Rauth
Imani Roach
Raúl Romero
Kris Rumman
Lea Devon Sorrentino
Lane Speidel, Black Box Co-Chair
Jim Strong, Black Box Co-Chair
Aaron Terry
Roopa Vasudevan

Yana Balson, President
Marion Horowitz
Bea Huff Hunter
Natalie Kuenzi
Jesse Pires
Chloe Reison
Mark Stockton